Amsterdam Framboise

I’m not a fruity beer fan in general, but I do really enjoy a good raspberry ale. Amsterdam’s seasonal Framboise is now in stores.

IMG_20140503_191658

As you can see, it comes in a fancy 650 ml bottle that’s wax sealed. It’s a whopping $10.95 a bottle and I’ll talk about that point later.

The beer pours with a ruby red colour, darker than most raspberry ales, and a pink head. It has the strong raspberry aroma you’d expect with a good raspberry ale. The flavour has a lot of raspberry in it. There is no wateriness to this one. There is a tart finish mixed with bitter hoppiness. This beer, though very good, isn’t as drinkable as other raspberry ales. At 6.5% ABV, stronger than probably any raspberry ale you’ll find, it’s probably for the best. The price is the one drawback for me. I didn’t see the price of this one (it wasn’t even on the shelf) until I got to the checkout and I decided to stick with it anyway as I’d gotten my excitement up. I’ve had other raspberry ales that were as good or nearly as good and were not outrageously priced.

Leave a comment