Roundhouse Craft Beer Festival

This past weekend I made it out to the Roundhouse Craft Beer Festival at Roundhouse Park. Overall, it was a fun time. The music acts were not the stars you’d see at the Toronto Festival of Beer, but there was still a lot of great local craft beer to sample. You probably wouldn’t be able to sample everything there without leaving in rough shape. A glass was $15 ($10 in advance) and sample tokens were $1 each. This is where I got annoyed. Some brewers would take one token for a sample and some would give you half a sample for one token and charge two for a full sample. $2 for a sample (five ounces, plus I already paid to get in) seems too much, though I understand the event did benefit the Toronto Railway Heritage Museum. My other beef was that I was required to buy tokens in increments of five. I was on my way out and wanted to sample one or two last beers, but didn’t want to buy a whole pack on tokens.

Would I check it out next year? Probably. It was a good time. There are other good festivals taking place in the summer and with the growth of craft brewing who knows what next year could look like?

Roundhouse Craft Beer Festival. The crowd got a lot larger after the Blue Jays game across the street ended.

Roundhouse Craft Beer Festival. The crowd got a lot larger after the Blue Jays game across the street ended.

The Roundhouse Craft Beer Festival sampling glass. In the glass, Flying Monkeys City and Colour Imperial Maple Wheat. At 11.5% I found it to be a maple-infused hard mixed drink. I didn't enjoy it, but can understand why others would.

The Roundhouse Craft Beer Festival sampling glass. In the glass, Flying Monkeys City and Colour Imperial Maple Wheat. At 11.5% I found it to be a maple-infused hard mixed drink. I didn’t enjoy it, but can understand why others would.

Leave a Reply

