vegan-friendly beer

Through following this blog, one thing you’ve learned about me is that I’m a beer lover. One other thing you’ll probably have learned by now is that I’m a vegetarian. It may surprise people that while beer obviously doesn’t have any meat in it, many beers have a shellfish extract called isinglass. This is used to clarify the beer and remove excess yeast. Most stouts, including Guinness, will contain isinglass. There are many other brands and types that will contain isinglass. I am not a vegan and will continue to drink what ever beer I feel like drinking.

However, there is a great website called barnivore.com that will answer all your questions as to whether or not your favourite beer, wine or liquor is vegan or not. A green label means the company’s products are vegan, red means they are not vegan. Yellow means some of the company’s products are vegan. One can click on the company link and find out what is vegan. For instance, Lakeport Brewery is yellow because they brew Lakeport Honey Lager. Since honey is used, it is not vegan.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: