Sucked in by corporate promotion

I realized on Friday night I got sucked in by a giant corporation. That giant corporation was the Molson Coors Brewing Company. I was at a bar with a friend I hadn’t seen in some time watching the semi-final of men’s hockey. I thought the patriotic thing to do would be to drink pints Molson Canadian. It had to be the beer with the red and white label. It couldn’t be Alexander Keith’s, Steamwhistle or some other perfectly Canadian beer. I decided it had to be Molson Canadian. The bar also had a promotion where you got a scratch ticket to win Molson gear and make yourself an advertisement for Molson Canadian.

But this happens often. How many times do we hear someone say they are going to drink a Guinness on St. Patrick’s Day? Guinness took March 17 and turned it into a giant marketing campaign for itself. The dark stout is one of the first things one thinks of when they hear St. Patrick’s Day. I have a strongly anti-capitalist friend who says, “you have to have a Guinness on St. Patrick’s Day.” Another stout will not do. Another Irish beer will not do.

In another case of Mike getting sucked in, I purchased a very small bottle of DiSaronno the other day. The commercials suggest it’s a liqueur for sophisticated men. I’d never tried it before and thought I would. It is not a manly drink at all. It is incredibly sweet and far too sweet for me.

Leave a Reply

