Amsterdam Nut Brown Ale

Amsterdam Brewing Co. actually operates in downtown Toronto, despite its name.

Nut Brown Ale is arguably their finest beer. It is truly a sensual beer. (I’ll throw in the word sensual as it is Valentine’s Day tomorrow.) It has a very deep chestnut brown colour, resembling a stout. It has a strong roasted nutty aroma. It is very flavourful, with a smoked almond taste, along with a hint of chocolate. I prefer Nut Brown in a can or bottle. Some of the flavour tends to get lost through the keg tap and I don’t know why.

Amsterdam also brews Kawartha Lakes Brewing beer. They took over KLB several years ago. KLB was originally brewed in Peterborough, and I don’t know if the unofficial boycott of KLB in Peterborough still stands. KLB Raspberry Wheat Ale was a staple among beer snobs in that city (though too fruity-tasting for my liking) and when Amsterdam took over it was as if an American or European giant was taking over. Beer drinkers were irate.

One Response to “Amsterdam Nut Brown Ale”

  1. […] a staple among beer snobs was KLB Raspberry Wheat Ale. KLB stands for Kawartha Lakes Brewing. I previously stated the beer was too sweet for my liking. Now that my tastes in beer have changed, I’m giving it […]

Leave a Reply

